Standards Development in Zambia

Publication date: 
28 August 2015
Dingiswayo Shawa

Overview of ZABS & Functions

  • Statutory National Standards Body established in 1982 under Standards Act CAP 416 of Laws of Zambia
  • One of the six (6) Statutory Bodies under MCTI: ZABS, CCPC, PACRA, CEEC, ZW&MA, Zambia Development Agency
  • Presence:  Lusaka (HQ), Nakonde, Chirundu, L/stone, Kazungula, Sesheke, Mwami, Chanida
  • Support to Govt. Decentralisation Policy: set up offices in Provincial Centres & Acquiring mobile testing equipment
  • Developed about 2400 Standards to date (51 standards are mandatory) 
  • Certified about 200 companies